If You Liked..., Try...!

If You Liked This, Try This: Brigid Kemmerer edition!

Day 5 of Brigid Kemmerer week is something new I wanted to try my hand at. I am always recommending books to people, so I thought this might be fun to try! This post will obviously be centered around Brigid’s books, but if people like this then perhaps I’ll do another post like this in the future!

If You Liked A Curse So Dark And Lonely, Then Try…

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas! This is a book loosely based on Beauty and The Beast so if the retelling aspect of Curse is is what drew you in, then you’ll definitely want to check this out!
  • A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab! Like in Curse, it starts with a girl in the mortal world who travels to a kingdom in a different world who then has to learn the ways of magic and help it’s people. If you liked the world traveling aspect of Curse (and sassy, strong and brave lead girls!) then you should probably pick this up ASAP

If You Liked Letters To The Lost, then Try…

  • Attachments by Rainbow Rowell! In Letters, the characters communicate through letters and emails and if that’s what drew you to Letters, then you might like this book because it is told almost completely through emails between characters! Just not quite in the way you’re thinking…
  • The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan! If the ‘hate to love’ relationship of Declan and Juliet is what got you reading Letters, then you will be all over Percy and Annabeth’s relationship dynamic!

If You Liked More Than We Can Tell, Then Try…

  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater! In MTWCT, Rev has a few hobbies, but most notably Jujitsu, which he teaches some of to Emma. In The Raven Boys, Gansey has a main hobby as well: searching for a dead Welsh king, which he teaches Blue about so she can help and join the gang-sey. It’s a magical series, and in all honesty, if you like Brigid’s books in general, then you will probably like Maggie’s books.
  • Lola And The Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins! In MTWCT, Rev and Emma meet up and talk about things that are going on in their lives that they don’t talk about with anyone else. In Lola, Cricket and Lola’s bedroom window’s are right across from each other and they talk through their windows all the time, sometimes even cross shelf bridges into each other’s room! It’s totally adorable and if you liked the fact that Rev and Emma could meet each other at the church and just talk, then you’ll love that part of Lola.

This is all I have for you today! I actually had a lot of fun writing this because it got me thinking about the different layers in Brigid’s books and what other books had those layers in them, and I hope I’ve turned you on to some new books or authors you haven’t read yet! As a general rule, I tried not to recommend Brigid’s others books but just know if you like one of her books, you’ll like her others. It’s pretty much a given, especially when it comes to her Letters universe.

I hope you liked this post, and if you read any of these books because you liked Brigid’s books or you have some other suggestions, let me know! I’m always happy to hear about new books similar to ones that I love and I also love hearing people talk about books they love!

1 thought on “If You Liked This, Try This: Brigid Kemmerer edition!”

  1. This was such an interesting post! I’ve actually read all of these but Attachments and ACOTAR (well, technically I DNFed it about halfway through) but it is interesting to see how these books could possibly be connected.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s